How to View Your Facebook Profile as Someone Else Would See It

You can never be too careful when posting things on Facebook. Events and images intended to be shared with friends or family may accidentally become accessible to other eyes. There are settings to prevent this, but checking each message to confirm the “Private” status is quite difficult. Luckily, Facebook has the option to let you see which of your uploads are visible to everyone. This article shows you how to view your Facebook profile like…

You can never be too careful when posting things on Facebook. Events and images intended to be shared with friends or family may accidentally become accessible to other eyes. There are settings to prevent this, but checking each message to confirm the “Private” status is quite difficult.

Luckily, Facebook has the option to let you see which of your uploads are visible to everyone. This article shows you how to view your Facebook profile like someone else would, giving you control over the content you make public.

Viewing Your Facebook Profile as Public on Windows, Mac, or Linux

Seeing your profile as others see it is a simple process on a PC or Mac. To do this, follow these instructions:

  • Open “Facebook” in a browser, then click on the “inverted triangle” (Account menu) in the upper right section.
  • Select “View your profile” at the very top.
  • Click on the “horizontal ellipsis” (three horizontal dots) under the profile header.
  • Choose “Profile and Tagging Settings”.
  • Scroll the right pane down. Next to the “eye icon”, click “View as” to see what others see on your profile page.

Displaying your Facebook profile as public on Android/iOS/iPhone

Facebook Mobile lets you see your Facebook profile as public as a browser, although activating it is slightly different. Here’s what you need to do:

  • Open the “Facebook app” and go to your “profile page” by tapping your “profile icon” or the “hamburger icon” (Menu) towards the top of the screen.
  • Tap the “horizontal ellipsis” (three horizontal lines) to access your profile menu.
  • Select “Show as”.
  • Your profile appears, displaying all publicly visible content.

Why would you want to see your profile as someone else?

Social media has radically changed the way we communicate with others. It has made posting our daily thoughts and habits second nature. However, taking what we upload for granted can lead to many security risks for you and your family and should not be ignored.

People underestimate the amount of data displayed by a single image. A street sign, landmark, or even surrounding houses can give away your location to anyone persistent enough to try to find it, not to mention all the location data in the image file itself.

If you’re posting images to show your friends, that’s fine, but it’s a pretty easy mistake to forget to reset the privacy settings once they go public. Viewing your profile as someone else lets you see posts you’ve made available to everyone else.

You can quickly decide whether these messages can be left on your public profile or later made private. The “View as” option allows you to see all of your “public” posts simultaneously and eliminates the tedious post-by-post inspection process.

Keep track of your downloads

Social media has become something so commonplace that it is taken for granted in these modern times. People post almost anything and everything, from big celebrations to what they ate for lunch. Keeping track of what you download is essential because you don’t want to share stuff with people you don’t want to see.

Leave a Comment